A prayer about stopping revenge

 

A Prayer About Stopping Revenge

Most Precious Lord Jesus, Gentle And Wonderful God, Truly Awesome And Ever-present Holy Spirit,
Precious Lord Jesus, I love you.
I have been beaten down.
I have been pushed aside.
I have been cheated.
I have been discriminated against.
I have been attacked.
I know what I have to do in your name.
I know that in your name I must forgive.
But in me there is a rage that seeks revenge.
Why should I keep turning the other cheek?
Where are you when I need you to take action to stop others when they come against me?
I know I am to forgive.
At this moment, it is very difficult for me to forgive those who have hurt me.
So help me here.
Help me to forgive.
Help me to put aside the hurts.
Help me to put aside my being cheated.
Help me to put aside the discrimination against me.
Help me to put aside the attacks against me.
When I get into this kind of circumstance, turn my eyes toward you.
Turn my eyes toward you and to your suffering upon the cross for me.
Remind me to forgive.
Give me a heart to let all the hurts inflicted upon me float up to you.
Let me surrender all of have, both my pain and my ego, up to you.
Help me give to those who hurt me.
Help me put my selfish feelings aside.
Help me to think only of you and never of myself.
All these things I humbly pray in the name of my most Blessed Lord Jesus Christ, my Mighty God, and my Ever-present Holy Spirit upon whom I can rely.
Amen

Leave a Reply

